Ecotourism Award - Brolga 2016

COVID-19Travel UpdatesRead More

World Expeditions wins prestigious eco tourism Brolga Award

In 2016 World Expeditions was announced as the winner of the 2016 Northern Territory Tourism Brolga Award in the category of ‘Ecotourism’ for our Classic Larapinta Trail in Comfort product.

The Brolga Awards is the official tourism awards program for the Northern Territory, recognising and encouraging tourism businesses that strive for excellence in every area of their operation. A Brolga award is the industry’s highest accolade and the recipients represent the best products and services in the Northern Territory.

The Ecotourism award recognises ecologically sustainable tourism with a primary focus on experiencing natural areas that foster environmental and cultural understanding, appreciation and conservation.

The 2016 Brolga Award for Ecotourism was presented to World Expeditions Australian Domestic Product Manager, Heidi Smith, at Darwin Convention Centre on Saturday 12 November 2016.

Set in the spectacular West MacDonnell Ranges of Central Australia, the Larapinta Trail is the quintessential Australian Desert walking experience, offering one of the greatest desert treks on earth.

“I am over the moon that our Larapinta Trail product has been recognised in this way,” Mrs Smith said.

 “Australian Australian Walking Holidays, a division of World Expeditions, pioneered trekking on the Larapinta back in 1995.

“At the heart of our Larapinta Trail trek is a commitment to provide an outstanding experience for trekkers while minimising our impact on the environment.

“Our three architecturally designed, semi-permanent campsite facilities incorporate sustainable technologies such as water-free composting toilets, solar lighting systems and a hybrid grey water disposal system designed for the arid environment.

The Brolga Northern Territory Tourism Awards are open to tourism operators, industry suppliers and outstanding individuals.Winners of the 2016 Brolga Awards business categories will represent the Northern Territory at the Australian Tourism Awards to be held in Darwin in February 2017.